Logo castel Chevron down

Bringing the soil to life

Château Montlabert, Saint-Emilion Grand Cru

Certified Terra Vitis since the 2011 vintage, the Château Montlabert (Saint-Emilion Grand Cru) vineyard is run according to the principles of sustainable winemaking. The property’s 13 hectares are cultivated like a garden, with the utmost precision. Every autumn, cereal crops including barley, wheat and rye are sown between the rows of vines. Taking advantage of the humidity of the climate in Bordeaux, the cereals grow during winter and spring, providing competition for the vines, and enriching the soil with nitrogen. As soon as spring is over, the soils are tilled using a non-reversible plough, destroying the cover crops without recourse to chemical weeding.

Terra Vitis

We have been certified Terra Vitis since the 2011 vintage. The certification fits us perfectly. The idea is to find the right balance between the earth, the sky, and ourselves. My idea is to bring the soil to life, and the soil will give us life in return.

Ludovic Hérault, vineyard manager
Château Cavalier, AOC Côtes de Provence

Château Cavalier has been actively involved in Terra Vitis, a unique certification in terms of sustainable winemaking, since the 2009 vintage. In the heart of inland Provence, the climate is hot and dry, meaning that irrigation is often a serious challenge. At Château Cavalier, two vast reservoirs allow us to collect rainwater during the winter. This water is then used to water the vines in summer, allowing us to avoid using groundwater. Alongside the widespread installation of insect refuges, these vast reservoirs are a means of encouraging biodiversity. Ducks, herons, cormorants are just a few of the migrating birds that benefit.

Terra Vitis

Terroir is the confluence of the vine and its environment, but also of the men and women who work there. Terra Vitis is an eco-responsible certification, taking into account every aspect of the vineyard: the environment (respect for the vines, respect for the terroir, waste management), but also people (the team, security, training).

Clément Brun, Technical Director
Clos des Orfeuilles

Le Clos des Orfeuilles, in the heart of the Muscadet appellation in the Pays de la Loire, is the only one of our family estates to be certified Organic. Beyond banning the use of synthetic compounds in wine production, the AB certification represents systematic approach, prioritising the natural vitality of the soil. The meticulous work of tilling the soil and maintaining a grassy cover between the vines brings life to the soil.

At Clos des Orfeuilles, the use of native yeasts is a major priority. Extracted from the grape skins from several different areas of the vineyard, four strains are used in the winemaking process. The result: bold, opulent wines, made with respect for the appellation’s defining characteristics.

Bio

Our working methods are more and more healthy, for ourselves, for the environment, and for our children. But we do not make organic wine for its own sake. We need to seek out perfection. That is the only way you will find quality. It is a philosophy for life.

Jean-Didier Brevet, vineyard manager
Domaine de la Clapière, Languedoc

Domaine de la Clapière, located in Montagnac in the Languedoc, has been certified Terra Vitis since the 2010 vintage. Well-ventilated and benefiting from a hotter, drier climate than the Bordeaux region, the vineyard is already naturally protected from grape diseases, allowing us to limit recourse to treatment. Aside from these natural assets, the approach at Domaine de la Clapière is based on meticulous research, taking care to maintain the vitality of the soil, allowing us to respond to the needs of the vines, and produce quality grapes. The objective: better information for better adaptation. At the property, the progress of every plot of vines is closely tracked. When results are unexpected, soil analysis is carried out promptly. The results allow us to swiftly modify our methods based on the needs of the vines.

Terra Vitis

We have been certified Terra Vitis since the 2010 vintage, the certification represents an approach that we have always taken. Terra Vitis is a genuine philosophy, a sustainable way of thinking about the impact we have on the environment from planting the vines all the way to bottling the wine. We are perfectly aware that we need to think about the future, about the world we are leaving to our children. Terra Vitis is the perfect response.

Sophie Palatsi, owner
Château Tour Prignac, Cru Bourgeois du Médoc

Château Tour Prignac, Cru Bourgeois, spreads over 300 hectares in the heart of the Medoc, with a total of 144 hectares of vines. Here, unlike Château Montlabert with its garden-like 13 hectares, it is the vast surface area of the property that allows us to manage the vineyard according to the principles of sustainable winemaking. The key: take advantage of the 156 hectares that are not adapted to winemaking as a means of encouraging biodiversity. Seeking to stimulate flora and fauna, 4 hectares are set aside and planted with wild-flowers, providing shelter for a number of beehives. Hedgerows, planted in 2015 and 2018, serve a similar purpose. Finally, an ambitious afforestation project is in process. Supplementing woodland already present, 5 hectares are currently being planted on the land that borders Lesparre to the south.

Terra Vitis

For the last 20 years, throughout the vineyard we have taken an approach based on the principles of sustainable agriculture. That’s how we find the right balance, returning to tried and tested methods. This approach falls within the framework provided by the Terra Vitis certification, which we have held for the last 8 years.

Yannick Gay, vineyard manager

Follow us

Logo castel Chevron down

Pour une terre vivante

Château Montlabert, Saint-Emilion Grand Cru

Certifié Terra Vitis depuis le millésime 2011, Château Montlabert (Saint-Emilion Grand Cru) conduit son vignoble selon les pratiques de l’agriculture raisonnée. Les 13 hectares de la propriété sont cultivés comme un jardin, avec la plus grande précision. Chaque automne, des semis de céréales (orge, blé, seigle…) sont installés entre les rangs de vignes. Profitant de l’humidité du climat bordelais, les semis poussent pendant tout l’hiver et le printemps, permettant de concurrencer la vigueur de la vigne, tout en enrichissant le sol d’azote. Dès la fin du printemps, le sol est travaillé et l’enherbement détruit, à l’aide d’une décavaillonneuse mécanique, sans aucun recours au désherbage chimique.

Terra Vitis

Nous sommes certifiées Terra Vitis depuis le millésime 2011. C’est une certification qui nous représente. L’idée est de trouver le compromis entre le ciel, la terre, et nous. Mon idée, c’est de faire vivre la terre, puis la terre nous le rend en retour.

Ludovic Hérault, régisseur
Château Cavalier, AOC Côtes de Provence

Depuis le millésime 2009, Château Cavalier est membre actif de Terra Vitis : une certification unique en termes de viticulture durable et raisonnée. Au cœur de la Provence des Terres, un climat chaud et sec fait de l’irrigation une problématique importante. Au Château Cavalier, deux grands bassins permettent de récupérer pendant l’hiver l’eau de pluie, qui est ensuite utilisée pour arroser les vignes pendant l’été, évitant ainsi de prélever l’eau dans la nappe souterraine. Conjointement à la mise en place de refuges à insectes et prédateurs partout sur le domaine, la présence de ces grands bassins encourage activement la biodiversité. Les canards, les hérons, les cormorans… ce sont tous des oiseaux migrateurs qui en bénéficient.

Terra Vitis

Le terroir, c’est l'adéquation de la vigne et son environnement mais aussi les hommes et les femmes qui y travaillent. Terra Vitis est une certification écoresponsable, qui prend en compte tous les aspects de l’exploitation : l’environnement (respect des vignes, respect du terroir, gestion des déchets), mais aussi les hommes (les équipes, la sécurité, la formation).

Clément Brun, Directeur Technique
Clos des Orfeuilles

Le Clos des Orfeuilles, au coeur de l'appellation Muscadet au Pays de la Loire, est la seule de nos propriétés familiales à bénéficier de la certification Agriculture Biologique. Au delà de l'interdiction de l'utilisation des molécules organiques de synthèse dans la production du vin, la viticulture biologique représente tout un système privilégiant la vitalité naturelle des sols. Le travail minutieux que représente le maintien des couverts herbeux et le travail mécanique de la terre en fait un sol vivant, qui lui-même rapporte de la vie.

Au Clos des Orfeuilles, une grande importance est également accordée à l'emploi des levures indigènes. Extraites des grappes de plusieurs parcelles de la propriété, 4 souches de levures sont utilisées dans la vinification du Clos des Orfeuilles. Le résultat : des vins francs, opulents et surtout respectueux des caractéristiques de l'appellation.

Bio

On travaille de façon de plus en plus saine, aussi bien pour nous, pour l’environnement, et pour nos enfants. Mais on ne peut pas faire du bio pour le plaisir de faire du bio. Il faut chercher la perfection. Ce n’est qu’à ce moment-là qu’on peut arriver à faire quelque chose de bien. C’est une philosophie de la vie.

Jean-Didier Brevet, régisseur
Domaine de la Clapière, Languedoc

Le Domaine de la Clapière, situé à Montagnac au Pays d'Oc, est certifiée Terra Vitis depuis le millésime 2010. Bien ventilé et bénéficiant d'un climat plus chaud et sec que celui du Bordelais, le vignoble est déjà bien protégé des maladies de la vigne, permettant de limiter le recours au traitement. Mis à part ses atouts naturels, Le Domaine de la Clapière bénéficie d'une approche rigoureusement étudiée, se donnant les moyens de maintenir un sol vivant, capable de répondre aux besoins de la vigne et de produire un raisin de qualité. L'objectif : s'informer pour mieux s'adapter. Au Domaine, l'évolution de chacune des parcelles est suivie au quotidien. En cas de développement inattendu, des carottages du sol sont rapidement effectués puis analysés. Les résultats permettent d'adapter rapidement l’alimentation et l’entretien de la vigne.

Terra Vitis

Nous sommes certifiés Terra Vitis depuis le millésime 2010, mais c’est une démarche que l’on a entamée dès notre installation à la propriété. Terra Vitis est une vraie philosophie, une réflexion raisonnée sur l’impact que l’on a sur l’environnement depuis la plantation de la vigne, jusqu’à la mise en bouteille. Nous sommes tous conscients qu’il faut penser à demain et à ce que l’on laisse à nos enfants. Terra Vitis répond parfaitement à cela.

Sophie Palatsi, propriétaire
Château Tour Prignac, Cru Bourgeois du Médoc

Château Tour Prignac, Cru Bourgeois, s’étend sur 300 hectares au cœur du Médoc, avec un total de 144 hectares plantés en vigne. Ici, à la différence des 13 hectares du Château Montlabert, c’est la vaste étendue de la propriété qui permet de conduire le vignoble selon les principes de la viticulture raisonnée. La clef : profiter autant que possible des 156 hectares qui ne sont pas aptes à la culture de la vigne pour stimuler la biodiversité. Dans l'objectif d'encourager la flore et la faune, 4 hectares sont ainsi mis en jachères fleuries, abritant plusieurs ruches d'abeilles. Des rangées de haies, plantées en 2015 et en 2018 en bordure du ruisseau et de la propriété remplissent la même fonction. Enfin, un ambitieux projet de boisement est en cours de réalisation : 5 hectares de bois plantés sur les terres qui bordent la commune de Lesparre s'ajouteront à ceux qui existent déjà sur la propriété.

Terra Vitis

Sur l’ensemble du vignoble depuis maintenant pratiquement 20 ans, on pratique la viticulture raisonnée. On trouve le juste équilibre de cette façon-là, pour revenir aux travaux qui se pratiquaient autrefois. Cela rentre dans le cadre de la certification Terra Vitis, que nous avons depuis 8 ans.

Yannick Gay, régisseur

Suivez nos actualités