Logo castel Chevron down

People

THREE GENERATIONS

Business and family. For us, the two have always been inseparable – now more so than ever. Castel Estates and Vineyards are run by three generations working hand in hand. The first - Pierre Castel’s generation - ensure that the company's founding values are never compromised. The second, featuring Alain and Philippe Castel, specify the strategic focus for the properties at all levels. And the third generation continue the adventure: Sophie Castel and Verena Raoux manage external relations while Alexis Raoux is responsible for Sustainable Development policies. This is an important way of nurturing the flame that has always inspired us - but more importantly, a way to - boldly, respectfully - bring all our properties alive.

PERSONALITIES

Castel is an extended family in the broadest sense of the word. Our technical team – just as committed as we are - are part of it: Nine managers devote their time every day to the upkeep of Castel’s 19 estates and vineyards. Some look after several properties; others focus on just one. There are no hard and fast rules. What counts is a good knowledge of the terroirs - and passion. The spirit of the team echoes the spirit of the properties - respect for the individual, leading towards our common goal.

DIVERSITY OF SKILL

Castel Estates and Vineyards is an adventure built on diversity. The properties are diverse, as are the characters that work in them - and the skills we need to support them. We employ consultant oenologists to work alongside our managers, and call on their expertise to help enhance our wines. By surrounding ourselves with experts, we remind ourselves of our own humble position in this great world of vine and wine. And because our work takes time, our partnerships are sustained in the long term, vintage after vintage.

Interviews

Sophie Castel
Véréna Raoux
Gérard Basset
Sophie Palatsi
Interview with Sophie Castel,
Officer (Jurat) of the Jurade de Saint-Émilion

When did you join the Jurade?

I was invested in September 2016, and although as Manager of External Relations for Châteaux & Domaines Castel – and therefore Château Montlabert – I am used to representing our various properties, I take my investiture very seriously. Wearing the official robe made the ceremony even more meaningful, and I have now declared my loyalty to Saint-Émilion

How did you feel during the investiture?

I was impressed by how important knowledge transfer is to the Jurade – whether it’s between generations to hand down their values, or by sharing Saint-Émilion wines with the public. I felt as if I had an important role to play.

Has a career in wine always been your vocation?

Not really, not to start with. As part of the family, I’ve naturally been immersed in the world of wine since early childhood, but after leaving school I wanted to go into forensic medicine. It was only after taking a Business Studies course in the UK, then working for a while in the hotel and tourism industry in Spain that I realised maybe my vocation lay in the lifestyle sector. I adore gastronomy and sommellerie, and can’t think of anything I’d enjoy more than representing the family properties.
Interview with Véréna Raoux,
Member of the Commanderie du Bontemps and the Union des Grands Crus de Bordeaux

How did you come to join these prestigious associations?

In my role as ambassador, I represent all the family properties including Château Arcins and Château Ferrande. Both have been chosen to join the Commanderie du Bontemps, and Ferrande is also a member of the Union des Grands Crus. The aim of both associations is to promote the wines and their terroirs, and both need the energy of their members to ensure that all activities are carried out effectively. I am very proud to be a part of this initiative.

What exactly is your role within these organisations?

The general idea is the same: to make a significant contribution to raising the profile and boosting the image of Bordeaux’s finest wines. Working together, our common goal is to help the word’s wine professionals, press and distributors to find out more our wines and the people who create them, and we are confident that collaborating in this way will benefit us all.

So it’s a mark of recognition for these properties?

First and foremost, it’s a responsibility. It’s quite a commitment to be seen as one of the region’s highest-profile ambassadors. And yes, it’s a very significant sign that the investments we’ve made in our properties in terms of quality have not gone unnoticed. Finally, it’s also an opportunity, because taking an active part in the promotional activities organised by the associations also promotes our wines – although that’s an opportunity we haven’t taken full advantage of just yet…
Interview with Gérard Basset,
Best sommelier of the world in 2010

Out of all the wines produced by Castel Family properties, which are your favourites, and why?

Château Montlabert 2009, without a shadow of doubt … I first tried this wine in the sum­mer of 2016, served with my wife’s signature dish of lightly caramelised rack of lamb with roasted vegetables. I experienced layer upon layer of flavour, with marked black fruit and spices, a harmonious palate and well-rounded tannins. It added a touch of velvet to our meal. A moment of pure gourmet delight!

How did you become a ‘patron’ of the 3rd the Châteaux & Domaines Castel Young European Sommeliers Cup competition?

I think it’s vital to support young people – they herald the revival of our profession.
As I live in the UK where the competition was held, I naturally wanted to take time out to support this important event in the sommellerie calendar. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and would like to thank Castel very much for their involvement.

If you had to describe Castel in just a few words, what would you say?

A major French wine producing company - that dares to be different!
Interview with Sophie Palatsi,
Domaine de la Clapière

How did you first come across Domaine de la Clapière?

I have always been involved with the world of wine; it’s a passion that was handed down to me by my family. In fact, my grandfather was one of the founders of the Castel business, and I have worked there since I was fifteen. In 2006, when my husband and I were looking for a vineyard property and somewhere to live in the Languedoc, I came across Domaine de la Clapière. We had been thinking about it for a long time, La Clapière finally made us take the plunge. The gorgeous location, the potential of the vineyard, the history of the property - it was love at first sight!

What makes La Clapière different from other Castel Estates and Vineyards properties?

As well as being the family’s only property in the Languedoc, La Clapière has a splendid vineyard which perfectly reflects the rich abundance of this terroir. The alluvial terraces combine free-draining gravel soils with rocky outcrops, offering amazing possibilities for planting different varietals. We have also created an area which we call the Centre for the Study of the Vine, a one-hectare plot dedicated solely to planting new varietals. It’s like an open-air laboratory, and has contributed to really getting the property moving forward. Today we make seven wines, each with a distinctive personality, be they red, white or rosé.

The expression you use to define the spirit of La Clapière is “L’art de se retrouver” - the art of ‘finding oneself’. What exactly do you mean by that?

It means a great deal for us. First of all, it means finding the spirit of friendship we want our wines to convey. Our wines are easy-drinking wines, made for pleasure - they tell a story of charm and freshness. It also refers to the property’s stunning environment: the 63 hectares of vineyards, wheat, olive groves and woodland hide a typical manor house surrounded by grounds with venerable old trees. It’s somewhere for us to live as a family, where those closest to us come to visit, and where we have set up guest accommodation...and finally, it evokes the idea of going back to our roots, of making wine like it used to be made, involving listening and showing respect for the terroir. This is something we do with the help of Terra Vitis.

Follow us

Logo castel Chevron down

Des hommes & des femmes

3 générations

Entreprise, famille. chez nous les deux s’entremêlent depuis toujours ; aujourd’hui sans doute plus que jamais. Les Châteaux & Domaines Castel, ce sont trois générations qui travaillent main dans la main. La première, celle de Pierre Castel, veille au respect des valeurs fondatrices de l’entreprise. La seconde, avec Alain et Philippe Castel, définit les orientations stratégiques à tous les niveaux des propriétés. Enfin, la troisième poursuit l’aventure ; Sophie Castel et Verena Raoux assurant les relations extérieures, Alexis Raoux, la stratégie de développement durable. Une façon de garder intacte la flamme qui nous anime depuis toujours, mais surtout de faire vivre, avec respect et audace, toutes ces propriétés.

PERSONNALITÉS

Chez Castel, la famille s’entend au sens large. L’équipe technique qui s’investit à nos côtés en fait bien entendu partie. Pour les dix-neuf Châteaux & Domaines Castel, ce sont neuf régisseurs qui oeuvrent chaque jour. Si certains se consacrent à plusieurs propriétés, d’autres ne mettent leur talent qu’au service d’une seule. Pour nous, il n’y a pas de règle en la matière ; seules comptent la connaissance des terroirs et la passion. Une équipe à l’image de notre collection de propriétés, où le respect du caractère de chacun sert une ambition commune.

TALENTS

Les Châteaux & Domaines Castel, c’est une aventure faite de diversité. Diversité des propriétés,des personnalités qui y travaillent, mais aussi des talents que nous allons chercher pour les accompagner. Aux côtés des régisseurs, plusieurs oenologues conseil mettent leurs savoir-faire au service de nos propriétés. Nous entourer de ces experts, c’est notre façon de rappeler notre humilité face au travail de la vigne et du vin. Et parce que ce travail demande du temps, ces collaborations s’inscrivent toujours dans la durée, millésime après millésime.

Interviews

Sophie Castel
Véréna Raoux
Gérard Basset
Sophie Palatsi
Entretien avec Sophie Castel,
Jurat de Saint-Émilion

Quand avez-vous rejoint la Jurade ?

J’ai été intronisée Jurat en septembre 2016. Si en tant que responsable des relations extérieures des Châteaux et Domaines Castel, et donc du Château Montlabert, j’ai l’habitude de représenter les différentes propriétés familiales, j’ai pris cette intronisation très au sérieux. Au-delà de la robe, qui donne un caractère solennel à ce moment, j’ai prêté serment de fidélité à Saint-Émilion.

Qu’avez-vous ressenti lors de votre intronisation ?

J’ai vraiment été saisie par l’importance de la transmission au sein de la Jurade. Que ce soit entre les générations, afin de continuer de porter ses valeurs ; ou pour partager les vins de Saint-Émilion avec le grand public, j’ai senti que j’avais désormais un rôle à jouer.

Le vin était-il une vocation ?

Au départ pas vraiment. Bien-sûr, avec ma famille je baigne dans cet univers depuis ma plus tendre enfance, mais après mon bac je voulais d’abord devenir médecin légiste. C’est seulement après des études de commerce en Angleterre, puis des expériences dans le tourisme et l’hôtellerie en Espagne, que j’ai compris que les métiers de l’art de vivre étaient ma vocation. Amoureuse de la gastronomie et de la sommellerie, je ne pouvais pas rêver mieux que de représenter les différentes propriétés familiales.
Entretien avec Véréna Raoux,
membre de la Commanderie du Bontemps et de l’Unions des Grands Crus de Bordeaux

Comment avez-vous rejoint ces prestigieuses associations?

En tant qu’ambassadrice des Châteaux & Domaines Castel, j’ai pour mission de représenter l’ensemble des propriétés familiales, dont le Château d’Arcins et le Château Ferrande. Il se trouve que l’une et l’autre sont membres de la Commanderie du Bontemps, mais aussi de l’Union des Grands Crus en ce qui concerne Ferrande. C’est associations ayant pour objectif de promouvoir les vins et les terroirs, elles ont besoin de forces vives pour mener à bien leurs actions et je suis très fière de m’y investir.

Justement, en quoi consiste vos activités au sein de ces cercles ?

L’idée générale est toujours la même : contribuer de manière significative à la notoriété et à l’image des Grands Vins de Bordeaux. Notre objectif commun étant d’aider les professionnels du monde entier, de la presse et de la distribution à mieux connaître nos vins et les viticulteurs qui les créent, avec la conviction que l’engagement collectif sert à chacun d’entre nous.

C’est aussi une reconnaissance pour ces propriétés ?

C’est d’abord une responsabilité ! Être reconnus parmi les meilleurs ambassadeurs de notre région nous engage. Ensuite, c’est bien-sûr une véritable reconnaissance de l’investissement de nos propriétés en matière de qualité. Enfin, c’est aussi une chance, car participer activement aux actions menées par ces associations est un formidable outil de promotion de nos vins, même si nous ne l’exploitons sans doute pas encore assez bien.
Entretien avec Gérard Basset,
Meilleur sommelier du monde en 2010

Parmi tous les vins issus des propriétés familiales Castel, quels ont été vos coups de cœur et pourquoi ?

Château Montlabert 2009, sans aucun doute. J’ai dégusté ce vin à l’été
2016, alors que mon épouse avait préparé sa spécialité : un carré d’agneau rôti légèrement caramélisé accompagné de légumes au four. Sa panoplie d’arômes, marquée par les fruits noirs et les épices, et son palais harmonieux aux tannins ronds, ont apporté une belle touche veloutée à notre dîner. Un moment délicieux !

Comment êtes-vous devenu « parrain » de la 3ème édition de la « Châteaux & Domaines Castel Young European Sommeliers Cup » ?

Pour moi, il est vital de supporter la jeunesse et le renouveau de
notre profession. Résidant en Angleterre où se tenait le concours, il était normal que je consacre du temps à ce bel événement de sommellerie. J’y ai pris énormément de plaisir et je remercie Castel pour leur engagement.

Aujourd’hui si vous deviez décrire CASTEL en quelques mots, que diriez-vous ?

Un groupe viticole français important mais surtout audacieux !
Entretien avec Sophie Palatsi,
Domaine de la Clapière

Comment s’est faite votre rencontre avec le Domaine de la Clapière ?

J’ai toujours baigné dans le monde du vin, passion qui m’a été transmise par ma famille. En effet, il se trouve que mon grand-père est un des fondateurs de l’entreprise Castel et que j’y travaille depuis plus de quinze ans. En 2006, alors que mon mari et moi étions à la recherche d’une propriété viticole à reprendre et où nous installer dans le Languedoc, j’ai découvert le Domaine de la Clapière. Ce projet nous tenait à coeur depuis longtemps, mais c’est la Clapière qui nous a fait sauter le pas. Le charme du lieu, le potentiel du vignoble, l’histoire de la propriété. nous sommes littéralement tombés amoureux !

Qu’est ce qui rend cette propriété si particulière au sein des Châteaux & Domaines Castel ?

Si c’est la seule propriété familiale en Languedoc, elle bénéficie surtout d’un vignoble qui est une représentation parfaite de la richesse de ce terroir. Au Domaine de La Clapière, les terrasses alluviales qui mêlent zones graveleuses filtrantes et roches affleurantes, offrent des possibilités d’encépagement extraordinaires ! D’ailleurs, nous avons créé une parcelle que nous appelons le centre d’interprétation de la vigne. l s’agit d’un hectare 100% dédié à l’implantation de nouveaux cépages. Un vrai laboratoire à ciel ouvert qui nous a permis de faire beaucoup progresser la propriété. Aujourd’hui, nous produisons sept vins révélant chacun leur caractère, que ce soit en rouge en blanc ou en rosé.

Que signifie l’expression « l’Art de se retrouver » par laquelle vous définissez l’esprit de la Clapière ?

L’Art de se Retrouver signifie beaucoup pour nous. Il y a d’abord la convivialité que nous voulons affirmer dans nos vins. Des vins « plaisir », qui racontent une histoire empreinte de charme et de fraîcheur. Il y aussi l’évocation de l’environnement exceptionnel de la propriété qui, au milieu des 63 hectares de vignes, de blé, d’oliviers et de forêts, révèle une bastide typique entourée d’un parc d’arbres centenaires. Un lieu où nous vivons en famille, où nous recevons nos proches, et où nous avons également créé une maison d’hôtes. Enfin, l’Art de se retrouver évoque l’idée d’un retour aux sources dans la façon de faire du vin. Une démarche d’écoute et de respect du terroir, que nous mettons en oeuvre avec Terra Vitis.

Suivez nos actualités